Behind the Label
- The Maison
In the late 17th century, Benedictine monk Dom Thierry Ruinart learned of a new “wine with bubbles” popular in Paris. He believed it could have a promising future if made in the vineyards of Champagne, and in 1729 his nephew Nicolas Ruinart founded the first-ever champagne maison.
A royal legacy
Ruinart, the “Jewel of Champagne,” benefits from a long heritage of forward-thinkers, with the Ruinart family having created the best expression of chardonnay for over two centuries. Symbolic of timeless elegance and refinement, this noble champagne is loved and sought-after throughout the world.
Tradition with innovation
Cellar master Frédéric Panaïotis has perfected the specific aging times: from three years for non-vintage champagnes to more than 10 years for Dom Ruinart. The maison cellars its champagnes in grandiose Gallo-Roman chalk mines – named a UNESCO World Heritage site in 2015.
The chardonnay grape is mainly harvested from the Côte des Blancs to the South of Épernay and Montagne de Reims – the northernmost area of the region, where vines thrive in limestone soil or very deep chalky clay.