Behind the Label
- The Maison
In the late 17th century, Benedictine monk Dom Thierry Ruinart learned of a new “wine with bubbles” popular in Paris that he believed could have a promising future if made in the vineyards of Champagne, and in 1729 his nephew Nicolas Ruinart founded the first-ever champagne maison.
A royal legacy
Ruinart, the “Jewel of Champagne,” benefits from a long heritage of forward-thinkers, with the Ruinart family expressing the best of chardonnay for over two centuries. Symbolic of timeless elegance and refinement, this noble champagne inspires desire throughout the world.
Tradition with innovation
Cellar master Frédéric Panaïotis has perfected the ageing time: from three years for non-vintage champagnes and more than 10 years for Dom Ruinart. The maison cellars its champagnes in grandiose Gallo-Roman chalk mines – a UNESCO-classified site since 2015.
The chardonnay grape is mainly harvested from the Côte des Blancs to the South of Épernay and Montagne de Reims – the northernmost area of the region, where vines thrive in limestone soil or very deep chalky clay.